[Review] Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

Title : Passenger

Author : Alexandra Bracken

ISBN : 9781484715772

Date Published : January 5th 2016

Publisher : Disney Hyperion

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever


Finally! I can’t wait to finish this from so long ago.

My God. I was so overwhelming right after I finish this book. Somehow I knew that something like that won’t just happen to the main character without explanation, but I was still so sad by how Alexandra Bracken describes Nicholas’ anguish. Ah, okay, stop with the spoiler.

Passenger is a book about time travel. This concept is new to me so I don’t really understand the whole concept as how you can travel to other time but you remain in your age at the present, and how about your present time? Do you just disappear from that time? I’m so confused even before I read this book, and anyway, Alex’s writing style is so full of description that makes me more confused than ever.

The story starts when Etta, a violin prodigy, was shoved into a confusing event that called time traveling when she herself didn’t know that she had the ability. She ended up on a ship at 1776 where she met Nicholas. After that she learnt that she got her ability from her mom, and that her mom had a debt to someone who wanted Etta to pay for it.

Well, I think the idea of this story is brilliant, but how Alex pours the story onto papers is not that brilliant. When I read past some chapters, I really hoped that something grand would happen soon. I understand that Alex needs to build the characters and the story, but will you need half the book to do that? I was almost 50% in to this book when the real conquest just started. I think the first half of this book can be reduced to be simpler but no less great. The description about places and the surroundings were needed but not that long. I did read two pages that full of only description.

After I endured the first half, though, the story slowly became more bearable. Etta and Nicholas traveled together to complete the demand of Ironwood. But again, there’s nothing grand happened here. They just traveled through time guided by a letter from Etta’s mom and avoided the Ironwood guardians who kept eye to the passages. There’s some interesting events happening here and there, and it reached the peak after 75% of the book.

So I think the story is dragged, slow-paced without giving me anticipation like other slow-paced-at-first books I have read. I like some of the events though, so I don’t really despise this book. That event right before the last chapter caught me off-guard too. So, it’s not that bad.

Love, Rose

My Rating:

2,5 stars

Leave a Reply

